GOSHA Health & Safety Awards 2018

Awards kindly sponsored by



Award Entry Details


Click here to view details of the Award Presentation Dinner evening.

Who can enter?
The awards are open to any Guernsey business, organisation, or individual in the public or private sector; with a workplace health and safety initiative that complies with one of the six categories. Regardless of organisational size, entries are judged on the innovation and excellence of the health and safety initiative and how well it meets the criteria.
Nominees from previous years are eligible to enter again with the same initiative, however they must prove a significant improvement in the health and safety initiative since their previous submission. Any third-party suppliers/contractors utilised in the development of the organisation’s initiative must be recognised.

Judging process
Expert assessors appointed by GOSHA undertake the judging throughout March, April and May. Awards will be judged by a panel of experienced Health and Safety professionals headed by Richard Brown retired Head of Guernsey Health and Safety Executive and winner of the GOSHA lifetime achievement award. An independent adjudication panel from the GOSHA awards committee will support the judges. The Judges will determine a short list of at least two entrants in each category and may arrange to visit your workplace.

Award Categories:

Occupational Health or Healthy Workplace Award

This category requires you to describe innovative health and wellbeing initiatives that have resulted in improvements within your organisation. These can be one-off events or ongoing campaigns. Which could include, for example, health surveillance, improving physical health, addressing mental health issues, tackling bullying and harassment or any initiative designed to improve workplace conditions. Finalists in this category must demonstrate that their health and wellbeing initiative has had a positive effect on the participants and/or the workplace through changes in workplace behaviours, performance or processes.

Safety Culture Award

This category recognises the decisions and actions of directors, CEOs and/or executive managers to make safety a business priority and the impact it is having on the organisation. Finalists of this category must demonstrate that their organisation’s initiative is on an equal footing with other business priorities, is integrating safety with other parts of the business, and either eliminated or significantly reduced psychosocial as well as physical workplace risks.

Construction Excellence in Safety Award

This category is for construction sector organisations’ who have demonstrated excellence and continuous commitment to health and safety on a project, achieving exemplary standards. Finalists of this category must evidence innovation in H&S and wellbeing, specific project-based initiatives designed to embed a positive culture, the site-based communication of best practice, the results/ improvements this has led to on the project and how learnings can be transferred to future schemes.

Safety Training Initiative Award

This category requires you to describe an innovative workplace health and safety or occupational health and safety training initiative that has been implemented or being developed in your organisation. The initiative can be a one-off or a continuing initiative. Finalists of this category must demonstrate that their training initiative has or will lead to sustainable improvement in workplace behaviour, performance or processes.

Challenging Project Safety Solution Award

This category requires you to describe a solution implemented to overcome a challenging identified risk or issue in a challenging project. Finalists in this category must demonstrate that their solution was innovative, proven to work and demonstrated a significant reduction or elimination of the risk.

Individual or Young Safety Champion Award

This category recognises the outstanding contribution of an individual (with or without formal health and safety responsibilities). To be nominated the individual must have played a significant role in a recent workplace health and safety or occupational health initiative and gone above and beyond their normal duties, which has resulted in a sustainable improvement within an organisation (or area they work or volunteer in).

Please note: No self-nominations; Individuals must be nominated by their peers, work colleagues, managers or organisation.

Best of the Best

This prestigious Judges’ Choice Award is presented for the most outstanding achievement in workplace health and safety of an organisation, business or individual. This award is not open for nomination, instead one of the six category winners will also be presented with this ultimate recognition at the awards ceremony.

Awards Presentation

The award winners and Judges commendations will be presented at the GOSHA Awards Evening, Friday 22nd June 2018 at La Grande Mare Hotel Golf & Country Club.

Important Note:
Entry Fee: £25 per entry which is redeemable against annual membership renewal fees MUST be received before a submission can be considered. Cheque’s to be made payable to ‘GOSHA’.

Submit Entry


Click here to view details of the Award Presentation Dinner evening.

Terms and Conditions

For a full list of the terms and conditions please click here